Media Mondays: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

Did you watch it this weekend? And by it, I mean one of the most anticipated movies of this year, if not ever? Of course, I’m talking about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part 2. I did manage to squeeze some time to see it while I was having my Harry Potter series reading marathon. For those of you who have not seen it yet, please bring a box of tissue with you before you do. If you are a fan of the series like I am, you will definitely be emotionally affected.

I did not see it during the midnight showing, nor did I see it in 3D. I wanted the first time (because there will be many more) to be untouched by the fancy schmancy effects of 3D. When I see HPDH-p2 on Wednesdays with Christine and Caitlin over at whatchYAreading?, I’m going to see if they are all for watching it in 3D. I must say, I was very happy, impressed, ecstatic with how the last movie in the franchise turned out. Yes, I felt it was a sad end to a part of my childhood, but still, it was brilliant.

The wonderful people behind the movie did a fantastic job adding in the important parts and highlighting the importance of Harry, Voldemort, Snape, and other key factors of the last book. I did feel that they should have added a little more emphasis to the Neville storyline, but he did play an important part regardless.

The art of the cinematic shots were awesome. There were some shots that just had so much significance and symbolism, it made the art fan in me give a standing ovation.

To say I loved it would be an understatement. Great movie for all ages, families, and fans of the book series. 

Let’s talk about some of the facts, shall we?

  • The film franchise is produced by David Heyman.
  • Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, and Emma Watson stars as the three leading characters, Harry Potter, Ron Weasley, and Hermione Granger.
  • Four directors have worked on the series:
    • Chris Columbus, directed Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.
    • Alfonso Cuaron, directed Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
    • Mike Newel, directed Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.
    • David Yates, directed Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part 1 & 2.
  • In 1997, the offices of David Heyman received a copy of the first book. The book was originally considered low-priority, but was discovered by a secretary who passed it along with a positive review.
  • In 1999, Heyman’s enthusiasm led to Rowling’s sale of the film rights for the first four Harry Potter books to Warner Bros.
  • In 2000, after a seven month search, lead actor Daniel Radcliffe was discovered by producer David Heyman and writer Steve Kloves seated just behind them in a theater.
  •  In 2000, the unknown British actors Emma Watson and Rupert Grint were selected from thousands of auditioning children to play the roles of Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley, respectively.
  • Steve Kloves wrote the screenplays for all but the fifth film, which was penned by Michael Goldenberg.
  • Aside from the three lead actors, other notable cast members include:
    •  Robbie Coltrane as Rubeus Hagrid
    • Alan Rickman as Severus Snape
    • Maggie Smith as Minerva McGonagall
    • Tom Felton as Draco Malfoy
    • Richard Harris, who played the role of Professor Albus Dumbledore, passed away on 25 October 2002
    • Michael Gambon, also as Dumbledore
    • Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix Lestrange
    • Warwick Davis as Filius Flitwick
    • Ralph Fiennes as Lord Voldemort
    • Brendan Gleeson as Alastor Moody
    • Richard Griffiths as Vernon Dursley
    • Jason Isaacs as Lucius Malfoy
    • Gary Oldman as Sirius Black
    • Fiona Shaw as Petunia Dursley
    • Timothy Spall as Peter Pettigrew
    • David Thewlis as Remus Lupin
    • Emma Thompson as Sybill Trelawney
    • Julie Walters as Molly Weasley
    • Mark Williams as Arthur Weasley
  • There have been six different directors of photography in the franchise:
    • John Seale worked on the first film
    • Roger Pratt on the second and fourth
    • Michael Seresin on the third
    • Slawomir Idziak on the fifth
    • Bruno Delbonnel on the sixth
    • Eduardo Serra on the seventh and eighth
  • The Harry Potter series has had four composers:
    • John Williams was the first composer to enter the series and is known for creating Hedwig’s Theme, which is heard at the start of each instalment. Williams scored the first three films
    •  Patrick Doyle scored the fourth film
    • Nicholas Hooper started work scoring Order of the Phoenix and also composed the soundtrack to Half-Blood Prince.
    • Alexandre Desplat composed the score for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 and 2.
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
    • Release Date: November 16, 2001
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $974,733,550
      • US:$317,575,550
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
    • Release Date: November 14, 2001
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $878,643,482
      • US: $261,988,482
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
    • Release Date: May 31, 2004
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $795,634,069
      • US: $249,541,069
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    • Release Date: November, 18 2005
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $895,921,036
      • US: $290,013,036
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
    • Release Date: July 11, 2007
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $938,212,738
      • US:$292,004,738
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
    • Release Date: July 15, 2009
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $933,959,197
      • US: $301,959,197
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows-Part 1
    • Release Date: November 19, 2010
    • Box Office Revenue:
      • Worldwide: $954,501,070
      • US:$295,001,070

3 thoughts on “Media Mondays: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2

  1. I’m seeing this tonight.. I can’t wait! I know that no matter how hard I try, I will cry lots and lots. I was actually sobbing whilst reading the last few chapters of the book, so tears will be a certainty. Despite the misery of this, I know I’ll be watching a piece of history, and probably the biggest film of these two decades. I’m sad, but happy that I’ll have such a wonderful series of entertainment in my DVD collection when I buy the full box set 🙂

  2. Wow, I really did need tissues! I was a bit embarrassed to have to rustle around in bag to find them, I wish I had them on standby.
    A really incredible film, I’m so glad I went to see it at the cinema (and I went for 2D as well, I’ve never been that impressed with 3D in the past).
    I’ll be getting them on Blu Ray too 🙂

Leave a Reply

