Book: Captive by Brighton Walsh

22537691Captive by Brighton Walsh

Publisher:  St. Martin’s Griffin
Publish Date: March 24, 2015
Series: Captive, Book 1
ISBN-13: 978-1250059635
Genre: Fiction – New Adult, Contemporary 

Synopsis: He’s the most dangerous man she’s ever met…and she’s falling in love with him.

Madison Frost is desperate to escape her life. Daughter of a prominent businessman, she has everything a girl could ask for. Except for a family who’s present in her life, and anyone to talk to outside the four walls of the prison she calls home. Madison dreams of one day leaving her life behind. She never thought being kidnapped is how it would happen.

Now she’s being held captive by a man who’s as frightening as he is sinfully gorgeous. Enormous, muscular, and filled with secrets, the man they call Ghost is an enigmatic mercenary, and Madison is trapped with him. She doesn’t know who hired him or why, but the more time she spends at his mercy, the more she realizes he’s not what he seems. Beneath his rough exterior lies an unexpected gentleness and a heart as broken and battered as her own.

But as Madison lets down her walls, Ghost holds tight to his, hiding secrets that could destroy everything.


Captive touches on a very sensitive subject: kidnapping. While I wouldn’t usually pick up a book with this topic, Brighton Walsh is one of my go-to authors. And because she is amazing, I trusted her talent to hold my hand through the story.

And Walsh has never steered me wrong.

Captive tells the story of Madison Frost, a young woman with all the luxuries that money can offer, but with the confinements of appearances and expectations that comes along with riches and prestige. One normal day leads to unfortunate circumstances when she is kidnapped by a man called Ghost. From one prison to another, Madison must survive with any means. But what she doesn’t expect is something that I also didn’t expect, trust.

I used to read about scenarios that are categorized as Stockholm syndrome; where the hostage has a positive relationship with their captor. While the introduction of the relationship between Madison and Ghost were relatively normal (in a kidnapping scenario), I feel that Walsh changed that normalcy when she explained the full situation. I didn’t have an instant aversion to Ghost as I probably should. Walsh dulled that pain and allowed me to accept what was going on.

Madison is not as strong as other heroines I’ve read from Walsh. She is loyal and that is probably her biggest shortcoming. Her personality played into the damsel-in-distress trope, and I was a sympathetic believer. I hated Ghost, and was in pain for Madison’s situation. I was all-in, and wanted to be the white knight in shining armor to save her day.

Ghost is a surprising twist, all on his own. I didn’t expect him, his personality, or his actions. My brain had already put him in a category once I established that he was the “bad guy.” But sometimes, it never is as simple as that, and Walsh reminded me of that fact. I found myself understanding him a little better, and in time, I sympathized with him as well.

My reading preferences have gotten specific over the years, but when I see an author that I adore, like Brighton Walsh, write something outside of my own comfort zone, I will almost always give it a chance. What I love about Walsh’s writing style is that she sets up any situation with ease, allowing me, as the reader, to set my comfort level. Once I was comfortable with everything, I was able to read without any prejudices. It was no longer about my thoughts that I had formed, but rather just about the two main characters and the relationship that was beginning to blossom between them.

And I love her for that.

Brighton Walsh is a favorite for a reason, and she did amazingly well with Captive. I urge you to pick it up and and get captured with the story.

Leave a Reply

