Book events.

I attend my fair share of book events. I’ve started attending these events since I was in college. My first event was for an autobiography for a professor that I admired. When I realized that book events were a thing? It pretty much began the obsession.

6tag_291013-184812 InstagramCapture_1a932a64-c831-4c44-b964-356c3f171672 InstagramCapture_a4dd2b0d-e1f1-48b4-abde-03debee3088d_jpg InstagramCapture_01576a6c-4c79-4336-b61a-2b217266c56c_jpg

These days? I attend local book events, most of the time with Stacee. They’re a great way to meet the author and get a little more information about the book, their writing process, and other fun facts that you wouldn’t normally get anywhere else. (For fun recaps of book events, check out Stacee’s blog.)

If the event is local (within 30 minutes), I’ll leave work early, meet up with Stacee, and get dessert (sometimes two desserts!). If the event isn’t too local, I usually won’t go into work. I’ll spend the morning with the kids, and then Stacee and I will head up to the LA area. Other times, I’ll already be in the area for a weekend and attend from there.

It’s exciting to love a book, or an author. But it’s extremely exciting to see the author in person listening about the book I love, or will potentially love. Most of the times, my face-to-face experience with an author adds to the readability or obsessiveness I will have with that book. It’s a great feeling when you understand the basis of an idea for a book, and get a behind the scenes understanding of the events that took place to make this book happen.

My favorite questions to ask the author(s)?

What is the most drastic thing you have done for a deadline?

and

If you had to choose a theme song for your writing process for this book, what would it be?

Have you ever been to a book event? If so, which has been your favorite?

Leave a Reply

