Book: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

NNNever Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Publish Date: January 7, 2015
Publisher: Hoover Ink through Amazon
ISBN: 150610715X
Genre: Fiction – Young Adult, Suspense, Romance

Synopsis: “How odd to be made of flesh, balanced on bone, and filled with a soul you’ve never met.”

Charlize Wynwood and Silas Nash have been best friends since they could walk.  They’ve been in love since the age of fourteen.
But as of this morning…they are complete strangers.
Their first kiss, their first fight, the moment they fell in love…every memory has vanished.
“I don’t care what our real first kiss was,” he says. “That’s the one I want to remember.” 
 
Charlize and Silas must work together to uncover the truth about what happened to them and why.  But the more they learn about the couple they used to be…the more they question why they were ever together to begin with.
“I want to remember what it feels like to love someone like that. And not just anyone.  I want to know what it feels like to love Charlie.”


This book. Wow, this book. How can I fully explain how I feel about Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher? I finished reading this book a little while ago, and I am still #$()@*#@ about this book. See? I can’t even describe how I feel about this book.

When someone asked me to describe this book to her, I said that Never Never is “if Romeo and Juliet went through the movie Momento.” Let me elaborate without saying anything to spoil you.

From the first few pages, I was trying to decipher who were the characters, where the setting took place, and what the plot was. But as I read each page, I quickly realized that as a reader, you have to throw all of those questions out the window. You cannot simply establish everything from the first few pages, or even the first few chapters. Instead, you have to keep an open mind and just absorb the information like a sponge. The story of Never Never is an enigma.

As Hoover and Fisher tell you a tale of a woman and a man, Charlize Wynwood and Silas Nash, we discover that they remember nothing  from their lives. They wake up in a place that is unfamiliar to them, confused and wondering where their memories have gone. As they uncover bits and pieces of information, they start to reveal things about themselves and about their pasts. Who they were then isn’t a reflection of who they are now, but the path to discovery is a wonderful one.

I will say that Never Never frustrated me, but it was worth it. At times, it was hard to keep an open mind and just accept what was happening. My mind has always been programmed to find out who, what, when, and where. But Hoover and Fisher wrote a story that challenged how I thought about a story itself. They allowed me to throw my preconceptions out the window, because Never Never was a story that I felt had to be read with an open imagination.

There are things in Never Never to please many different people: romance, mystery, a swoony boy to just name a few. But there will also be things to upset people.

But reading Never Never is worth it. Once you get to the end, you will wonder “WHAT DID I JUST READ?” I had that reaction, but I thought it to be a very positive thing.

I can’t wait for the second part! The wait is going to kill me.

Leave a Reply

