Book Hangover.

I’m in a book hangover. To me, a book hangover is when you recently finished a book, and you’ve become so enthralled and emotionally invested in all aspects of it that you cannot think about anything else. Sometimes it happens to me for days.

Has that ever happened to you?

The book in question? The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh.

I read this book in a day. For those of you who know me, know that ever since baby girl was born, I haven’t been able to read a book that quickly. But for The Wrath and the Dawn? You bet I did. My official thoughts won’t be posted until closer to the release date, but to sum up some of my thoughts, here’s a snippet:

The Wrath and the Dawn’s world is exquisitely filled with wonderful and complex characters. You cannot simply love them, nor can you hate them. Instead, you have to invest your time and emotions into them, and allow them to live with you forever. It’s complexity upon mystery upon mystique. Words haunt you and they make you fall in love. Characters make you cheer for the bad and jeer for the good. Everything is skillfully crafted, binding each detail to another, making one large cycle of intricacy and book awesomeness.

PB01112015Doesn’t it make you want to read it? Y/FY?

Well, I’m attempting to read other books, but it might be unfair to some if I go from this to that. Maybe I’ll reread one of my favorites to get out of this drunken stupor.

On another note, last night I went to see Pierce Brown at Mysterious Galaxy for Golden Son. It was a splendid evening and even got my picture taken with him. Mysterious Galaxy always holds great book events, so if you’re in the area, stop by.

For a recap of last night’s events, check out Stacee’s blog. And while you’re there, just stay and read about all the other amazing events that she goes to.

Leave a Reply

