Sunny days.

In Southern California, we don’t have typical seasonal weather. Most of the time we only have two seasons: sunny and not sunny. I think I’ve only felt extremely cold or extremely hot about a week or two at a time. For the most part, its a steady temperature perfect for being laid back and “Californian.” It definitely doesn’t hurt that there are over 100 days of sun in San Diego. Talk about ideal!

For a second, I was starting to become a bear – angry and very irritable. Doesn’t help that I’m still in the newborn parenting stupor and am averaging about 4 hours of sleep a day/night (I don’t really know when I sleep). But standing in the sun? It’s magical. I feel warmth and it instantly brings me happiness.

Today happened to be sunny in San Diego, and it was the perfect weather for a new book.

 

Right now, I’m reading The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. It will be released in May 2015, published by Putnam/Penguin.

I haven’t read that much, but so far? It is AWESOME. Ahdieh writes this story with so much complexity, but with finesse and east. I ADORE the characters and the multi-faceted dimensions that they were built upon. I am enjoying it, them, everything.

 

Leave a Reply

