Taste buds.

6tag_010114-141945     6tag_061013-125642     IMG_20130512_132659 1

It is not a surprise that I love food. There was a time (obviously pre-kids) that my Instagram feed was 90% food. I can’t believe how much time I spent documenting my eating life. And while I occasionally snap what I’m about to eat, I have adapted the mentality to savour it now and share it later. I should probably take that mentality and apply it to other things in my life, but it is just so easy to get caught up in it all. To be my best that people will see, isn’t that what we’ve all been wanting?

Probably, and it is a hard habit to break.

There was a time when I was obsessed with a certain food community. I was a diligent and thought myself bonafide food critic, alerting the masses on what was delicious and what was not. I religiously took photos and made sure to post them online, perfecting the angle for optimal deliciousness. Who was I to slave over one little photo, or a few words, to let someone else enjoy what I should have been?

Not someone who truly enjoyed food. That’s who.

I remember seeing someone who didn’t have a care in the world once food was presented to them. It appeared that their surroundings disappeared, their environment silenced, and all that was left in their life was the dish directly in front of them. And after that first bite? Nirvana. I learned that no one else will enjoy it as much as you can in that moment. So who cares about everything else?

Food is essential to life, so therefore eat it now.

Leave a Reply

