Hello 2015.

Resolutions. Goals. Diets. Etc, etc, etc.

Each year I find myself having one, or wanting to do one. I’m pretty sure a majority of everyone wants to do one. With the lure of social media (I’m looking at you Pinterest!), it’s easy to want to belong to that collective.

Do I have goals? Of course I do. Do I have resolutions? Sure. Do I want to go on a diet? Absolutely. But I won’t tell myself, “This year, we’re doing ________.” More than anything, I’d rather tell myself, “Just be a better you.”

Isn’t that enough?

For me, it’s just easier to eventually come up with excuses. (Motherhood has the perfect scapegoat.) I think the best thing for me is to just take things one step at a time. To just attempt to mimic all the good things that I did the day before.

Actually, one of the two things that I will commit to becoming more involved mom for O and S. Especially since O is getting older, and education is beginning to take a front seat, I want to be hands-on. The other thing is to take more time for myself. I have found that being a wife, mom, daughter, friend, employee… it’s easy to say yes. It turns out that I will tell myself “later” so I can tell whomever “yes” now. I know it won’t be an easy commitment, but I hope to just actively be aware of what’s going on.

Isn’t that enough, 2015?

3 thoughts on “Hello 2015.

  1. I struggle the same as you regarding resolutions and decided in just being better this year than last year. I think that this “just being better” approach I simple enough to follow and hopefully becomes a guideline/mantra for the days/weeks/months to come.

  2. Yes to all of this! *hugs* A lot of these struggles have been mine as well. My resolution has been the same for the past few years: Wake up with the intention every day to be the best me possible. As long as I make an attempt, I don’t fail at all. Wishing you all the best things for you and yours this year! *squeeze*

Leave a Reply

