Ramblings, Day 3

I have a habit of judging a book by its cover, literally. Many times I browse through the book store, the library, or even online sites, and look at the pretty covers. I’ll almost instantly want to read the book because I’m attracted to the gorgeous cover.

I can’t help it! I’m a very visual person. I’m attracted to gorgeous and unique fonts strategically placed. I don’t always need a cover model, but when he or she is dressed well, I admit, I’m a sucker. And if a female is dressed in a gorgeous dress? Gah! Let’s talk about colors. I’m attracted to certain colors. Blue hues are almost instant purchases for me. It’s a calming color to me. Covers with a wide variety in a single cover also attract my attention. I also want to include my love of monochrome with a single color. Why? I have no idea. It just appeals to me.

While I like pretty, I also like a little simplicity. I know, it seems to contradict what I’ve said earlier. But I don’t like having too much on the cover. I want to see a gorgeous, yet simple font. I want a graphic that doesn’t take away from the title. At least that’s what I think.

For example…

Most of the time, the story is worthy of the gorgeous cover. There are times when I’m disappointed, and even some moments of heart-break. But it’s a risk that I take when I choose a book for its cover. I can’t help it, I really can’t. It’s like the new shiny that I can’t take my eyes off.

Does this happen to you? How do you feel about covers?

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with these covers. Some I’ve read, most I haven’t. But so far, the cover was worthy of the story.

Bloodrose (Nightshade, #3) The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers Darker Still (Magic Most Foul, #1) Born Wicked (The Cahill Witch Chronicles, #1) Harbinger

Everneath (Everneath, #1) Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1) Incarnate (Newsoul, #1) Under the Never Sky Endlessly (Paranormalcy, #3)

The Selection (The Selection, #1) Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test, #2) The Wood Queen (The Iron Witch, #2) Enchanted The Treachery of Beautiful Things

One thought on “Ramblings, Day 3

  1. I totally agree with you! I definitely judge books by their covers! I know I shouldn’t, and there have been MANY times I’ve picked up a book with a pretty book and was let down, or picked up a book with an ugly cover and LOVED it – but there have also been times when the gorgeous cover matched the gorgeous writing inside!

    I think, out of all of those, CINDER is my fave cover. It’s different. It’s interesting. I get a sense of what the story is about. And the colours are GORGEOUS! (But I’m in love with a number of those covers :p)

Leave a Reply

