Ramblings, Day 2

I have a dilemma. I have a book that I started to read. No, I haven’t added it to Goodreads or anything like that, so said book will remain anonymous…for now. I loved the beginning and then the pace slowed down a bit. I’m about a third into the book and I’m wondering if I should continue reading or stop and move on to the next. I’m trying to ask myself if I love the characters enough to continue.

Do you ever feel this way? What do you do? 

I haven’t read earlier works of this author, so I have nothing to gauge it with. It isn’t just the pacing. Let me fill you in a little more about the book. At first, everything was great. But now? There’s too many details, which probably caused the pace of the book to slow down. I feel like the integrity of the story, and the development of the characters, were lost with the information overload. But I like the characters, at least the protagonist. I feel that maybe, just maybe, it will work out in the end.

I would ask someone, but this is ultimately my decision. Isn’t it?  Hmm. I should just finish the book, shouldn’t I? I’ve made goals for myself, and while this isn’t one of them (to finish books and never quit), I suppose it feels like it should be one. In the past, I would give it until the halfway mark. If I still felt the same way, I would stop reading and stop altogether. I guess I can’t do this anymore.

So, really. What do you do when this happens to you? What is the threshold, the line to cross, the time to wave the white flag for you? I would like to know.

5 thoughts on “Ramblings, Day 2

  1. I usually take a breather. I do chores, make a phone call, just anything to give me time away from the book. Half the time I don’t go back. I don’t have too much time to read for leisure, so if I don’t feel entertained I lose interest. There are other things that I could be doing.

    But if you ask me, I think you should finish it. I’d like to know what it is you’re reading and if its worth my time to read it. 🙂

    • You’re right. I should probably finish it. I should give the story a chance. I mean, I probably haven’t even reached the peak of the story. Okay, I’ll give it another day and go back to it.

  2. This happens to me sometimes. Most of the time, I don’t finish the book. I get a lot of my books from the library, or I borrow it from people, so I have a deadline. But if you don’t have this problem, then I don’t see why you couldn’t go back to it and finish it.

    I’m with 144, I want to know what you’re reading also. 🙂

  3. That’s a tough one. I generally never give up on a book once I start it. But, there are definitely cases where I think I should have. There’s so many books to read without wasting your time on something that isn’t for you. Maybe give it a few more chapters though? I’m actually having a hard time choosing my next book for some reason.

    Hope you find a book that you click with soon!

  4. Hiya! Fantastic blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your website (somewhat a lot more like addict ) of this site. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more!

Leave a Reply

