Ramblings, Day 1

I used to blog, a lot. For those of you who have known me a while, know that I have had several blogs. From Tripod (before the Lycos merger), to Livejournal, Xanga…I’ve moved myself and my thoughts from one blog to another. I thought that I would get go back into that again.

No, don’t worry, I won’t talk about my personal life that much. Instead, I wanted to talk about things related to books. Maybe I’ll ramble about what I’m reading, or I’ll gush about how one sentence made the scene into a memorable one. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do this daily, but I’ll do my best.

So for my first entry? I read The Night Swimmer by Matt Bondurant, recently. One of my reading goals for the year was to expand my reading horizons. The Night Swimmer definitely accomplished that goal. It’s a contemporary fiction, targeted for adults. The setting was in Ireland. The heroine was strong, and the writing superb. But it was a murder mystery. It was scary. The imagery gave me goosebumps. It was a great thing, but I couldn’t sleep after I finished it. I had to keep the bathroom light on.

Yes, I’m a reading wuss. It’s why I hold back with a lot of great books. Hopefully I can change that, among other things.

Do you have any reading fears?

6 thoughts on “Ramblings, Day 1

  1. Well, once an image is in my head, I’m very hard-pressed to get it to disappear. This is why I avoid almost all horror movies, and why I don’t generally read things that fall into the Horror genre. As an example, I saw the poor girl’s face, all distorted and disgusting, in my head for weeks after I saw “The Ring” for the first time. It took FOREVER for me to lose the details. Ick!

    All that to say: I avoid reading things that make me have a similar reaction. If the image is too disturbing, I don’t want it anywhere near me.

  2. i love scary movies, so i’ll probably read this one too. i love how much it gets my heart racing. i love how excited i get. it’s the best thrill i can experience, right now.

  3. I don’t know if it’s a fear, or rather a prejudice. I tend to stay away from YA. I’m a lot older than you and I think that it wouldn’t bring anything to the table. For me at least. But when I read what you have to say about some of the books in the genre, I second guess myself. Maybe I should expand my reading taste, as you have, and give it a try. Do you have a suggestion?

    • Hey Jo! Thanks for stopping by. From the books that we’ve talked about, and from the books that you tend to gravitate to, I think you’ll like Laini Taylor’s books. I’ll send you an e-mail and link you to some awesome books.

      YA has pushed a lot of boundaries lately, and I feel that sometimes, it gets a bad rap. A lot of the books that I’ve read aren’t “young” or “immature.” I think you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

