Media Monday


ABC’s
Once Upon a Time has quickly become one of my favorite shows of this fall season. There was a lot of buzz surrounding this show, at Comic-Con back in July and I just knew this was going to be one of the shows to watch out for.

    

Yesterday was only the fourth episode, but so much has happened in the story line. If you do not know what the show premise is about, the show centers around a woman who is drawn to the town of Storybrooke, Maine. Storybrooke is filled with a more magic and mystery that the small quaint town is letting on. The Evil Queen has placed a curse released throughout the land of fairy tales, which has transported characters Snow White and Prince Charming to the present. No one remember anything and in Storybrooke, time has stood still.

WPA poster by Kenneth Whitley, 1939.

It has been an all star cast, but I don’t think it’s the names that draws the audience. ABC and the shows creators have done a fantastic job including other fairytale characters like Rumpelstiltskin, Jiminy Cricket, Geppetto, Pinnocchio, and Red Riding Hood. I have also seen some amazing guest characters like Maleficient and Cinderella.

When the show first aired, I admit that I had to look up some of the stories. The basic story is that of Snow White. It is a fairy tale known from many countries in Europe, but most popularly from the Brothers Grimm of Germany. The German version features elements such as the magic mirror, the poisoned apple, the glass coffin, and the seven dwarves. There are so many versions of the classic fairy tales, and I am sure that we have all heard at least one version of the story.

To keep up to date with the show, follow their Twitter at @OnceABC and visit their website at http://abc.go.com/shows/once-upon-a-time.

Do you watch this show? Let me know! I am always looking to talk about what just happened during the episode.

Snow White Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (Little Golden Book) Rose Red and Snow White: A Grimms Fairy Tale

One thought on “Media Monday

  1. Great feature, Michelle. I love this show too. I just caught up on last night’s episode tonight, and I’m loving all the stories and twists. I missed the Comic-Con panel and had forgotten it was introduced there. I was a fan of Lost too, and it is fun to catch the Lost references in this show.
    Rumpelstiltskin creeps me out especially.
    We’ll have to chat about the show on Twitter sometime 🙂

Leave a Reply

