Weekend Reads

I’ve slacked off with some of my book review responsibilities to read the books in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. I recently realized that I haven’t read this series. And I thought I did! Oops. You see, I had planned to reread the series before I started Bloodlines. So I picked up the first book and started reading, and I didn’t recognize anything in the story. Huh?

Vampire Academy image by AmixamAbubebleSo I went through some other books that had a similar story to the Vampire Academy series, and lo and behold, I mixed the two stories up.

Oops?

It happens, right? Sure, there are different plots, characters, and twists, but sometimes stories are just similar. Whether they’re of the paranormal nature, or they have the love triangle arc. Oh! Don’t forget the one where she’s an orphan and then finds out she comes from an amazing family and has super powers. See? It all blends together, right? So my mistake is just a casualty of reading too many good books.

Can’t fault me with that.

I started with the first book, Vampire Academy on Monday. I think it was Monday, the days are starting to blur together. While the beginning was a little slow for me, once the momentum picked up, it quickly captivated me. I mean, it has to if I’m still reading the series, right?

But I was wrong.

This wasn’t just like any other vampire book series. Rose has been an amazing character. And Lissa? A perfect counter balance to Rose. The world that Mead has created has been wonderful. From the Royal Moroi, to the dhampirs, the characters that she has written into this world has a little more sophisticated feel to it. It’s not just a love triangle or a paranormal story. There are things that Mead talks about that are real and mature.

Like the whole lust thing? Or how you have responsibilities that you own up to and put aside your needs? See? Serious stuff there.

I’ll probably plan to do a week of reviews, dedicated to the series. I know I’m going to NEED to talk about it. I mean, Dimitri? How can I not talk about him? AMIRITE?! I think he’s the big reason why I’m still reading. *sigh*

So my weekend reads for this weekend? Finish Book 4 and, hopefully, the rest of the series so I can start Bloodlines. Have you read this series yet? I want to know! But remember, I’m only halfway through Blood Promise. No series ending spoilers, please!

What are your reads this week?

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) Frostbite (Vampire Academy, #2) Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3) Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4) Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, #5)

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill
Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill
Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill
Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill
Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy #5) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy, #6) Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)

Last Sacrifice (Vampire Academy #6) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill
Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead | Razorbill

2 thoughts on “Weekend Reads

  1. Yay I’m glad you’re reading Vampire Academy! It’s so addictive, and one of my all-time favorite YA paranormal series. Definitely a good idea to read it before Bloodlines. I’m envious you get to read them all back to back 🙂 Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

