Weekend Reads

I finally started on Momo’s Halloween costume!

I changed my mind and opted out of the samurai costume idea. I was thinking of costume ideas for myself, and the other half, and thought why not compliment Momo’s costume in some way? With the samurai, I could choose to be a samurai or geisha, but at a dog park, those aren’t really ideal. I looked through my craft books and browsed the internet for ideas. I didn’t want to just buy something. I wanted to challenge myself and make something.

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Comic Books Luckily, by a chance of fate, I received a book through NetGalley about knitted items.

Knits for Nerds: 30 Projects for Fans of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Comic Books by Toni Carr, Joan of Dark
Andrews McMeel Publishing | Pub Date: October 18, 2011

I browsed through these books and found my inspiration. Wonder Woman! The other half and I could easily wear logo t-shirts and together, we can be a part of The Justice League. Here were some inspiration images:

   

I’ll reveal the final costume later. For progress pictures, follow me on Twitter. I’m sure I’ll be talking about it a lot.

Okay, so now that I have babbled on about that, let’s talk about some books. I’ve read some really great books lately and I’ve finished some amazing series. But now, I’m in a lull. I have a lot of great choices, don’t get me wrong, but I’m unsure of my next book choice. You know what I mean? I am limited to NetGalley options since I am still participating in NetGalley October. Here are some of my choices.

Three Days, Two Nights The Lady of the Rivers Without Tess

Three Days, Two Nights by MJ Frederick | Carina Press
The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory | Simon & Schuster
Without Tess by Marcella Pixley | Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Maybe I’ll have time to read all three. What will you be reading this weekend?

One thought on “Weekend Reads

  1. You’re a fast reader – I bet you can get through them all. I’ve been sick and haven’t been reading too much this week unfortunately 😦 You have some good choices – A romance, historical fiction, or a YA. Without Tess is getting pretty good reviews. I know what you mean about being in a lull though.
    Great costume idea! How fun putting the costume together and have a good weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

