Personal: When I was 17

There’s a Facebook meme going around. You write about an age that the original poster gives to you. I was given the age of 17. Since I did this on my phone, I decided to just post it here. You know, for safe keeping later on. Here is what I wrote.

When I was 17, I was not a girl, and definitely not a woman. I listened to Aaliyah, Puff Daddy (when it wasn’t a trend to change names), and Missy Elliot. I didn’t collectΒ Facebook friends or Twitter followers, but instead pictures from Starshots, or something of the sort. When I was 17, I was obsessed with my best friends. Then, I was cool if I was just like them. I fell in love watching Titanic, went on a safari in The Lost World, and battled aliens with the Men in Black. I mourned for Notorious BIG. I discovered the internet, fell in love with Ultima Online, and had only begun to wear glasses. I was a yearbook geek, and read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone under the covers with a flashlight. When I was 17, I felt so much teenage angst, hurt feelings, and was always conscious of what my friends thought of me. When I was 17, I was just starting to become the person I was going to be forever. When I was 17, I never imagined a time when I wouldn’t be 17.

I am 31 now, so the age of 17 seems so long ago. I must admit, 17 was a good year. I felt like I was on top of the world. Now? As I look back, I realize that I was way too young and naive to feel and think what I did. But that is a part of life, isn’t it? We all think we are at our prime back in those years. It’s a stage in our life. But like many of you, I survived being 17.

What were you doing at 17?

2 thoughts on “Personal: When I was 17

  1. I’ve seen this going around! I got 21. Haha, great times at that age. Thanks for sharing, it was a good read.

Leave a Reply

