TV: HBO’s Game of Thrones

Tonight was the season finale for HBO’s Game of Thrones.

Don’t worry, I won’t mention anything about the finale or any other spoiler. We’ll just chat about the series.

Halfway through the season, I read the first book. I think after the second episode, I couldn’t handle the cliffhangers that contributed to my obsession with the series. I wanted to see how the show owned up to the book. I have seen other books that were turned into TV shows or movies, and it was always a 50/50 chance of being a hit or a miss.

I had questions. There were things that I wanted to know more of. I mean, didn’t you wonder who Jon Snow’s real mother was? Or what was Cersei’s real story? So I read the book. And you know what? The show stayed true to the book. In the coming episodes, I was waiting for something to be different. Take a look at HBO’s other show, True Blood, based of Charlaine Harris’  Sookie Stackhouse book series. TB changed halfway through the first season.

I read an interview a couple of weeks ago, and forgive me for I cannot remember which one it was, and it said that George R.R. Martin was involved in the show. Sure he has to give a lot of creative control to GoT’s head writers David Benioff and Dan Weiss, but I think that HBO has done something amazing with the series. It is rare to have a show gain a following both dependent and independent of the book. It’s almost unheard of in most cases.

Okay enough ramblings. If you are not watching the show, I ecstatically recommend it. It is one of the rare shows out there that have you glued to the tv sets. GoT has me thinking about every character and their role in this game.

Oh, and for all of those attending Comic-Con, Author George R.R. Martin will moderate the panel with attendees including David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Emilia Clarke, Peter Dinklage, Kit Harington, Jason Momoa and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau.

I’ll be sure to add this to my list of must-see.

Leave a Reply

